• Login:

Welcome to the Acer Tablet forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: A500 review from an Android Newb

Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    Liked
    1 times

A500 review from an Android Newb

So I'm writing this "review" from my tab, which I've had for a month now, to summarize my thoughts about the purchase. I'm totally new to Android, and haven't used anything made by Apple to date except making a phone call on a borrowed iPhone.
    For starters, I have to say that I was surprised to learn just how dumb the thing is once it's away from a web connection. I'm going to get myself a portable wifi 3g widget, just to try and make it useable.
    I was also under the impression that I'd be able to run things like the full open office program on it, but that did turn out to be laziness on my part-there was a bunch of information out there on the subject, whichi just failed to read. I must have just added Google and Android together to assume that because open office was a googlething, android would run it.
    Moving on.
    I realise now that I use the home and end keys on a keyboard compulsively. I don't understand why they don't seem to exist in android? Same with the whole cut and paste thing. Yes I have now worked it out, but why so hard? And just typing this papragraph drives me nuts, because of how hard it is to use simple things like arrow keys.

But for the positives?

I really like the screen resolution, and the ability to jump into apps like the dolphin browserand kindle, which make really good of the screen size. Docs to go is great and the price make the upgrade a no brainer.

Too much was made in reviews of the weight..I haven't noticed it at all.

All up, it's a really great little gizmo for the price. Add 3G and it would have been even better.