• Login:

Welcome to the Acer Tablet forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Hotmail no longer works on standard email app

  1. #1
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    3585
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    17
    Liked
    3 times

    Unhappy Hotmail no longer works on standard email app

    Hi all

    I don't seem to be able to add my Hotmail account to the standard email app, it is no longer able to connect to the Hotmail server when I add my email address and password.

    Anyone else experiencing this ?

    M

  2. # ADS
    Ads


  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    11552
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Posts
    369
    Liked
    73 times
    There is a problem with the servers.

    Change your servers from m.hotmail.com to debug-m.hotmail.com and it should work again.

    Admin - TransformerForums
    Super Mod - AcerTabs - NexusTabs - AndroidTabs
    Rescue Squad - Android.net - TransformerForums



    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munchin on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene. - Homer Jay Simpson


  4. #3
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    7302
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times
    Thanks Frederuco, I have been having this problem too. It seems like changing the server helped. Thank you

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    11552
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Posts
    369
    Liked
    73 times
    No problem. I have seen this at TransformerForums and AndroidTablets. It is affecting a lot of users.

    Admin - TransformerForums
    Super Mod - AcerTabs - NexusTabs - AndroidTabs
    Rescue Squad - Android.net - TransformerForums



    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munchin on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene. - Homer Jay Simpson


  6. #5
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    3585
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    17
    Liked
    3 times
    Hi Frederico

    My incoming server address is pop3.live.com, I don't see anything in the connection settings with m.Hotmail.com ?

    M

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    11552
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Posts
    369
    Liked
    73 times
    I am not sure what to tell you, but here is the thread at TransformerForums that deals with it:

    Coundn't Connect to Server -- Live/Hotmail Email Won't connect - Page 2

    I would try changing your server to debug-m.hotmail.com, or debug-m.live.com, or debug-pop3.live.com and see if it works.

    If not, try to find your mail server (like the BAY suggested in the linked thread) and do that in front of your pop3.live.com

    Admin - TransformerForums
    Super Mod - AcerTabs - NexusTabs - AndroidTabs
    Rescue Squad - Android.net - TransformerForums



    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munchin on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene. - Homer Jay Simpson


  8. #7
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    3585
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    17
    Liked
    3 times
    Hi Frederuco

    I've changed from POP3 to exchange and tried both the debug and 3 letter server name - still no joy. Thanks for your help but I'm going to give up on this one and use my Gmail account on my tablet. I can't understand why something that worked so well has not worked for 3 months now and still no fix - crazy!

    Cheers anyway

    M
    Frederuco likes this.

  9. #8
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    11552
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Posts
    369
    Liked
    73 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Mozza View Post
    Hi Frederuco

    I've changed from POP3 to exchange and tried both the debug and 3 letter server name - still no joy. Thanks for your help but I'm going to give up on this one and use my Gmail account on my tablet. I can't understand why something that worked so well has not worked for 3 months now and still no fix - crazy!

    Cheers anyway

    M
    I could say the same thing about the stock browser - for the past 13 months (HC & ICS) the stock browser has not worked well for me - input lag, borked downloads to name a few niggles with it. Considering one of the primary uses of a tablet is the internet one would think Google would have gotten AT LEAST the browser figured out in the past year....

    Admin - TransformerForums
    Super Mod - AcerTabs - NexusTabs - AndroidTabs
    Rescue Squad - Android.net - TransformerForums



    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munchin on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene. - Homer Jay Simpson


  10. #9
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    12985
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Liked
    2 times
    Same thing happened to me on my A200 after ICS update. The "debug" option didn't seem to work for me so I deleted my tablet email account and set it up again manually. For the server name I used the suggestion from Snipes at TransformersForum: "Microsoft says to change the server to the server of your account.
    To do this, do the following:
    Login to your account on mail.live.com
    After login the address changes to, for example 9w.bay159.mail.live.com/.
    Use the three letter code behind the first period. In this case BAY, but this could be different for your account.
    Place the three letters in the server address followed by -m.
    For this server it would become bay-m.hotmail.com"
    This procedure did the trick for me. Hope that helps.
    janarooskie likes this.

  11. #10
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    3585
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    17
    Liked
    3 times
    Quote Originally Posted by bibbit View Post
    Same thing happened to me on my A200 after ICS update. The "debug" option didn't seem to work for me so I deleted my tablet email account and set it up again manually. For the server name I used the suggestion from Snipes at TransformersForum: "Microsoft says to change the server to the server of your account.
    To do this, do the following:
    Login to your account on mail.live.com
    After login the address changes to, for example 9w.bay159.mail.live.com/.
    Use the three letter code behind the first period. In this case BAY, but this could be different for your account.
    Place the three letters in the server address followed by -m.
    For this server it would become bay-m.hotmail.com"
    This procedure did the trick for me. Hope that helps.
    Hi Bibbit

    yeah I tried that - my server address is .blu126 - it appears to accept the blu-m.hotmail.com as the server address, but doesn't download any emails - I just get an empty email box regardless of how longI set the synch period.

    M


 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

android hotmail cannot connect to server
,

bay-m.hotmail

,

bay-m.hotmail.com

,
bay-m.hotmail.com not working
,
bay-m.hotmail.com server
,
cannot connect to hotmail server android
,
debug-m.hotmail
,

debug-m.hotmail.com

,
debug-m.hotmail.com not working
,
hotmail acer iconia a500
,
hotmail cannot connect to server android
,
hotmail not working on android tablet
,
m.hotmail.com
,

m.hotmail.com not working

,
what is bay-m.hotmail.com
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.