• Login:

Welcome to the Acer Tablet forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By maverick494
  • 1 Post By maverick494
  • 1 Post By wolverine423

Thread: brand new a500, was supposed to be store demo

  1. #1
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    5816
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    2 times

    brand new a500, was supposed to be store demo

    Randomly will star playing the stupid demo, how can I disable the demo?
    NumNutz likes this.

  2. # ADS
    Ads


  3. #2
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    5816
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    2 times
    I figured it out. For anyone else that has the problem it is all about the firmware and system on the device. The demo devices are shipped with a firmware that ends in _demo. In order to get rid of that you have to update the OS and firmware on the system to a full release version. Mine came with 3.0.1 and I updated it to 3.2 which got rid of this problem.
    NumNutz likes this.

  4. #3
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    8073
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times

    demo mode

    I have the same issue. Can you provide the steps on hou you solved the demo issue.

  5. #4
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    8281
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times
    Hi maverick494 - would you be kind enough to point me in the right direction for removing the demo operating system on my A500. Thanks

  6. #5
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    8307
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by rayking40 View Post
    Hi maverick494 - would you be kind enough to point me in the right direction for removing the demo operating system on my A500. Thanks
    Proceed at your own risk.
    Look here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1113878.

    You should be able to grab one of the FULL Packages listed there ( I recommend this one http://vache-android.com/files/SD_Ac...3_COM_GEN1.zip ).

    In that zip file is another zip file called update.zip You will need to place this file to the root directory of a microsd card. It cannot be in a folder on the sdcard.

    Back up all important files on your tablet to your computer.
    Plug in your tablet and make sure you have at least 40% charge.
    Turn off your tablet.
    Insert the microsd card.
    Hold volume down (left if in landscape) and press the power button to turn it on. Continue holding volume down until you see text appear in the top left of the screen.

    The update should finish within 10 minutes. DO NOT turn off the device while the firmware is being updated.
    Last edited by wolverine423; 02-28-2012 at 10:02 PM.
    rayking40 likes this.

  7. #6
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    8281
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times
    Excellent. Thanks for your help and I'll let you know how I get on.

  8. #7
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    8281
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times
    Just loaded rom and everything works fine. OTA update for 3.2.1 was discovered and too loaded perfectly. Thank you so much for your help

  9. #8
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    8307
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by rayking40 View Post
    Just loaded rom and everything works fine. OTA update for 3.2.1 was discovered and too loaded perfectly. Thank you so much for your help
    Glad everything worked out. Enjoy your Acer.

    Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk

  10. #9
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    12818
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times
    i tried it but after the letters in top left happen it pops up likes its bout to downloaed then it turns into a "!" triangle next to an android


 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

acer a500 demo

,

acer a500 demo mode

,
acer a500 demo software update
,
acer a500 in demo mode
,
acer demo mode
,

acer iconia a500 demo mode

,
acer iconia demo mode
,

acer iconia tab a500 demo

,

acer iconia tab a500 demo mode

,
acer iconia tab a500 demo removal
,
acer tablet demo
,

acer tablet stuck in demo mode

,
bought a demo a500
,
buy new acer a500
,
how to remove demo mode from acer tablet
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.