• Login:

Welcome to the Acer Tablet forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    Liked
    0 times

ACer A500 Update from 3.1

Hi,

Hoping someone out there can help me.

I recently used a friend's A500 tablet and was so impressed that I went out and bought one a few days ago. This is another way of saying that I'm a complete newbie as far as the tablet is concerned.

My friend's tablet was Android version 3.2 but the tablet I bought is version 3.0.1. The build number is Acer_500_1.016.05_COM_GEN1

I "chatted" with support staff at Acer and was told to reset the tablet to the factory settings and the update would automatically occurr "over the air."
    I did this and nothing happened. If I try to update manually I am told that no updates are available.

On a second chat session I was told that the updates to 3.2 have probably not been released for my serial number, but they could give me no idea how long I would have to wait before this happens.

I read on some other threads here that version 3.2 is available for download but it seems I'd have to first update from build 1.016.05 to 1.4*** before I could update to 3.2. I can't find how to do this.

I'm fairly pissed off about this. I didn't expect to have to go through this with a brand new tablet. I'm desperately hoping that someone can point me in the right direction and explain what steps I have to take to get the tablet updated.

Thanks.

Al.

2. # ADS
    Ads

Administrator
    Member #
    Liked
    179 times