• Login:

Welcome to the Acer Tablet forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By RobKort

Thread: Root for stock ICS update?

  1. #1
    Iconia Operative
    Member #
    5039
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    102
    Liked
    5 times

    Root for stock ICS update?

    Can I root my a500 that just updated to ICS? If I do will I fail to recieve future stock updates? All I want to do is delete the applications that I don't use that came with the tablet.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Member #
    5133
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania, US
    Posts
    2,970
    Liked
    181 times
    Yes you can root it, but I would recommend freezing and hiding the apps instead of deleting them. To receive any update you will have to revert back to stock so best thing to do is to make a back up of the stock ROM if possible.


    Acer Iconia A500 Now Has Root: Full root for A500 ICS 4.0.3[LEAK]
    Welcome To AcerTabletForum
    Please feel free to PM me if you need any help

  3. #3
    Iconia Operative
    Member #
    5039
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    102
    Liked
    5 times
    Ugh ok, that's what I was afraid of. I just want to clean up some space, any bit helps on an 8GB system, but probably not worth the hassle if I want to get updates in the future.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Member #
    5133
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania, US
    Posts
    2,970
    Liked
    181 times
    Is really not a big deal if you have the know how. The only problem with deleting deleting stock apps is that when an update come in, it searches for those apps. If even one of them it's missing it won't install or it will give you an error. Also, some of them are essential for the system to work properly. That's why I never recommend getting rid of them.

    Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2
    UltraDroid likes this.
    Welcome To AcerTabletForum
    Please feel free to PM me if you need any help

  5. #5
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    2502
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    25
    Liked
    1 times
    unless i am mistaken ICS allows you to disable them

    Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk 2

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Member #
    5133
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania, US
    Posts
    2,970
    Liked
    181 times
    Yep, you are right.

    -end of line-
    Welcome To AcerTabletForum
    Please feel free to PM me if you need any help

  7. #7
    Iconia Operative
    Member #
    9037
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    434
    Liked
    50 times
    Quote Originally Posted by RugerRedhawk View Post
    Ugh ok, that's what I was afraid of. I just want to clean up some space, any bit helps on an 8GB system, but probably not worth the hassle if I want to get updates in the future.
    You can also set it up so that you in essence swap your internal memory for the memory that is on your SD card giving you a 16/32GB tablet.

  8. #8
    Iconia Operative
    Member #
    5039
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    102
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Darkbulb View Post
    You can also set it up so that you in essence swap your internal memory for the memory that is on your SD card giving you a 16/32GB tablet.
    This also requires rooting though. I did go through and disable a bunch of apps, not sure what effect that actually has, but at a minimum it should keep that annoying gallery app from downloading several hundred megs of photos from picasaweb.


 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

a500 ics root

,
acer a500 ics root
,
acer a500 root stock ics
,

acer iconia a500 ics root

,

acer iconia a500 root ics

,

acer iconia tab a500 ics root

,
acer iconia tab a500 root
,

how to root acer iconia a500 ics

,
how to root stock ics a500
,

root a500 ics

,

root acer a500

,

root acer a500 ics

,

root acer iconia a500 ics

,
root iconia a500 ics
,
root stock ics a500
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.