• Login:

Welcome to the Acer Tablet forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 38
  1. #21
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    4119
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times

    If you have an older batch, you are out of luck... or ALMOST

    The newer batch of the A500 (same SKU, same Part Number, same Model Number...) has a major design change/correction that resolves the microphone issue. I saw one a few days ago. On an older batch, the microphone is located on the left AND under the glass, MUFFLED, that is. On the newer batch, the microphone is located in the center, where the glass meets the aluminum AND there is a visible rectangular (small, but visible) opening for the microphone TO BREATHE!!! HAHAHA. Acer finally corrected the DESIGN FLAW. BUT Acer will claim that there is nothing wrong with your flawed designed A500!!! GO FIGURE. Suggestion? Try to force Acer to replace your STILL IN WARRANTY unit for you AND do everybody else a favor, as I have done, and contact the Better Business Bureau, your State Attorney General, the Federal Trade Commission, your Senators and everybody that you know who has an older batch of the A500. Acer's support is crap. Their customer service is crap and dumb. Their US operation is crap. They will remain crap until they replace the piece of crap THAT IS UNDER WARRANTY, a warranty that states the following actions to be taken in case of poor performance or design...

    1. repair (unit is unrepairable)
    2. replace
    3. refund the amount you paid for this piece of crap

    People, act. Don't just sit and complain.

  2. #22
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    2502
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    25
    Liked
    1 times
    not really, mine has the center microphone and it still suffers from the issue

  3. #23
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    2350
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by mikadoo View Post
    The newer batch of the A500 (same SKU, same Part Number, same Model Number...) has a major design change/correction that resolves the microphone issue. I saw one a few days ago. On an older batch, the microphone is located on the left AND under the glass, MUFFLED, that is. On the newer batch, the microphone is located in the center, where the glass meets the aluminum AND there is a visible rectangular (small, but visible) opening for the microphone TO BREATHE!!! HAHAHA. Acer finally corrected the DESIGN FLAW. BUT Acer will claim that there is nothing wrong with your flawed designed A500!!! GO FIGURE. Suggestion? Try to force Acer to replace your STILL IN WARRANTY unit for you AND do everybody else a favor, as I have done, and contact the Better Business Bureau, your State Attorney General, the Federal Trade Commission, your Senators and everybody that you know who has an older batch of the A500. Acer's support is crap. Their customer service is crap and dumb. Their US operation is crap. They will remain crap until they replace the piece of crap THAT IS UNDER WARRANTY, a warranty that states the following actions to be taken in case of poor performance or design...

    1. repair (unit is unrepairable)
    2. replace
    3. refund the amount you paid for this piece of crap

    People, act. Don't just sit and complain.
    I use Skype quite a bit and found the microphone to be useless as many websites and forums have described about the A500 mic problem. I exchanged 5 emails with tech support about it. The finally referred me to level two support and gave me an 800 number to call to talk to level 2. After dealing with the maddening voice/menu system at Acer to get to the proper person, I spent 45 minutes on the phone with Acer level 2 support.

    Right away, the agent told me the microphone is partially blocked by the plastic cover (i.e. the tiny rectangle at the top center of the screen where the microphone is covering a larger hole for the mic). She then asked me to wait a few minutes while she did some research. She came back on the line claiming there is no problem with the mic and they have no plans to do anything about it. Yet!, she had just told me the mic was partially covered by the clear plastic shield of the a500. Obviously someone told her to double talk me and make me go away. I pursued it saying clearly this is some sort of defect if the mic is covered and Acer should do something about it, that got me nowhere. I finally gave up and hung up the phone. Useless support.

  4. #24
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    1367
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    0 times
    Try down loading audio manager from market. I do not have the issue . My mic was set at 4 of 5. I've used skype and it works ok.
    Others say their mic was set at 1 or 2.

  5. #25
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    2350
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times
    Thanks for the input. I'll try it out.

  6. #26
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    2350
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times
    It made a small amount of difference. Mine was also set to 4 of 5. I increased it to 5 and tried Skype, the other user reported a very slight improvement but not really significant.

  7. #27
    Dan
    Dan is offline
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    4459
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times

    Spoke to acer today

    Spoke to acer today regarding mic problem. Chap admitted that acer have redesigned tablet so that mic is no longer blocked by case. I waiting to hear back from them to see if they will replace mine with new batch. Will not accept no for answer and will lodge complaint with consumer affairs/office of fair trading if they refuse (in australia)

  8. #28
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    5020
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    1 times
    Well, I loved my Acer A500 until I tried Skype for the first time yesterday and came upon the microphone problem. No matter how I try, I cannot see the microphone so clearly I have one of the older units where the mic is covered by the plastic case (plus it's a refurbished unit). I would probably have lived with the problem if I could connect an external mic to the tablet but there is no such option. And Skype was one of the main reasons for the purchase... to talk and see my daughter and granddaughter who live in Israel. They could barely hear me talking. And I even installed the Audio Manager and cranked up the volume to 5 from an initial setting of 4. I have a 90 day warranty plus I purchased a 1-year warranty contract. I'm going to start by calling J&R in NY (from whom I purchased the A500) and see what they say. I'll let you folks know how things progress.

  9. #29
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    5020
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    1 times
    Update after talking to J&R: I realized that J&R would probably just send me another refurb unit and that that would not solve my problem. I decided to forgo saving money -- I just wanted a properly functioning A500. I told J&R that I would be willing to buy a new unit (they were selling it for $379.99) but that I saw it for sale at B&H and BestBuy for $349.99. Would they meet that price? The lady I spoke with said no, but that she could go down to $365. I decided to go with that price as I didn't want to start having to deal with yet another company if this A500 too had issues related to the microphone. The warranty I had purchased would be good for year 2 and I was OK with that. I got my RA# to return the unit but am still (about 20 hours later now) waiting for the email that will contain my free shipping return label. Looks like I'll be calling them again shortly to ask about that.

  10. #30
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    5125
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times
    Sorry to be pessimistic, but I returned one refurbished A500 and bought another new one -- no improvement in the microphone's performance, so it's going back. I'll wait for the IPad 3 next March, I guess.


 
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

acer a500 microphone

,
acer a500 microphone fix
,
acer a500 microphone problem
,
acer iconia a500 microphone
,
acer iconia a500 microphone problem
,
acer iconia mic
,

acer iconia microphone

,
acer iconia microphone location
,
acer iconia microphone problem
,
acer iconia microphone volume
,

acer iconia tab a500 microphone

,
acer iconia tab a500 microphone location
,

acer tablet microphone

,
iconia a500 microphone
,
iconia microphone
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.