• Login:

Welcome to the Acer Tablet forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Member #
    195
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times

    help please! My acer a500 cant find my wifi..

    im new here & im sorry if ive posted this in the wrong place, ive just brought a acer a500 tablet after weeks of looking at reviews & what not, im really happy with my item, but for some reason i when searching for my wifi, the tablet does not seem to find it, im on my wifi now writing this, also my phones connected & working but for some reason my a500 aint finding it, it does however find other wifi networks around my area so ino it works & i have it on, if anybody has any ideas please share them. thanks.

  2. # ADS
    Ads


  3. #2
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    107
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    27
    Liked
    0 times
    are you using a 802.11 a, g or n - I have to modify my 'n' wireless hub to run at 2.4 instead 5.8 (forgive me if I got .x digit wrong - not at home at this time)

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Member #
    142
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    10
    Liked
    0 times
    I run two reapeters off my wireless router, not sure I agree , sounds to me like several things are using different sucurity protocals. I.E. (one using wep and another using wap) just my 2 cents

  5. #4
    Iconia Informant
    Member #
    200
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    69
    Liked
    3 times
    According the the a500 stats, i doesn't work on a networks, if I remember correctly. If you're using a router that's using that type of network, it might be time to invest on a $40 n- network router

    Sent from my Droid X, which Netflix thinks is an HTC Vision!

  6. #5
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    101
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Midwest, USA
    Posts
    10
    Liked
    1 times
    You provide limited information and no information other than your A500 "ain't" finding it. If your device is seeing or connecting to other wifi networks then they are probably open networks, i.e. McDonald's, Starbucks, etc.

    I would suggest you find your SSID, your password and your encryption type which you already have setup and duplicate those specs on the A500.

  7. #6
    Iconia Informant
    Member #
    200
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    69
    Liked
    3 times
    He stated that it doesn't find the network, which leads me to believe it can't see it at all, which leads me to believe its an unsupported network type (aka, wireless a as opposed to b,g, or n). I do wish he'd reply regarding if anything worked.

    Sent from my A500 using Thumb Keyboard

  8. #7
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    76
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    11
    Liked
    0 times
    I was in Starbucks the other day and everyone was there on the wifi (Singapore). But the Iconia couldn't see the network at all. My Samsung netbook saw and connected fine.
    Seems there are some networks that it cannot see.

  9. #8
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    364
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Abandon View Post
    I was in Starbucks the other day and everyone was there on the wifi (Singapore). But the Iconia couldn't see the network at all. My Samsung netbook saw and connected fine.
    Seems there are some networks that it cannot see.

    I had the same issue with my first unit within the same room, almost had to stand on top of my NEW dual-band n1 router.

    Called acer support and they suggested to return/swap as some have a hardware wifi defect....

    my second unit runs like a champ...

  10. #9
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    364
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by dpj2011 View Post
    im new here & im sorry if ive posted this in the wrong place, ive just brought a acer a500 tablet after weeks of looking at reviews & what not, im really happy with my item, but for some reason i when searching for my wifi, the tablet does not seem to find it, im on my wifi now writing this, also my phones connected & working but for some reason my a500 aint finding it, it does however find other wifi networks around my area so ino it works & i have it on, if anybody has any ideas please share them. thanks.
    I would do the same......

    I had the same issue with my first unit within the same room, almost had to stand on top of my NEW dual-band n1 router.

    Called acer support and they suggested to return/swap as some have a hardware wifi defect....

    my second unit runs like a champ...

  11. #10
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    359
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by dpj2011 View Post
    im new here & im sorry if ive posted this in the wrong place, ive just brought a acer a500 tablet after weeks of looking at reviews & what not, im really happy with my item, but for some reason i when searching for my wifi, the tablet does not seem to find it, im on my wifi now writing this, also my phones connected & working but for some reason my a500 aint finding it, it does however find other wifi networks around my area so ino it works & i have it on, if anybody has any ideas please share them. thanks.
    Hi, I had the same promblem. I'm living in Sweden and my tablet is from US. On your router you have diffrent channels. US devices is capable of channels 1 to 10. European are capable of 1 to 13. If your router is on a higer channel then 10 your tablet won't find it. Go in to your router and change your channel to between 1-6 then you probebly will find you WiFi.

    Hope this helps you


 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

acer a500 cannot connect to wireless

,

acer a500 mywi

,

acer a500 will not connect to wifi

,
acer a500 won't connect to wifi
,
acer tablet cannot wifi
,
acer tablet wont detect my wifi
,
cant connect to wifi on acer a500
,
my tablet cant detect wifi
,
mywi a500 cant see wifi hotspot
,
mywi acer iconia
,
mywi iconia
,

router.a500

,
tablet cant detect wifi
,
tablet cant find wifi
,
why won't acer tablet connect to wifi with dlink router
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread