• Login:

Welcome to the Acer Tablet forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Iconia Operative
    Member #
    1570
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    202
    Liked
    10 times

    Question Updated to 3.2, cannot be rooted again?

    Here's the scenario:

    First acquired, Android version was 3.0.1 then updated via OTA to 3.1 and rooted my system.

    Second OTA update to 3.1 (again) and still rooted, can run gingerbreak and install some applications (specially those apps for rooted tablets).

    Third OTA update to 3.2, having trouble twice during the process and messed somewhere on the installation of ROM (I know I remember it was already v3.2 on the 3rd try of update) so I reflashed and successfuly restored back the system, checked and now, 3.2 version.

    Now, when I'm installing applications for (rooted tablets) because I know my tablet was already rooted but all were failed. So I checked and execute Busybox and it told me that Root Access not detected.

    Installed the Iconia Root Application, execute the program to root but it says "Something went wrong.. You are NOT root!"

    I also install Gingerbreak, set all the necessary required settings and when I execute the Root the device, the program just run and stays there... nothing happens.

    What seems to be the problem here?

    Why I cannot install apps even for rooted systems?

    Do I have to re-start all over again from the beginning? reflashing and set it back to v3.1? (possible downgrading?)

    Last edited by elsuirad; 09-22-2011 at 08:54 AM.

  2. #2
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    2103
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times
    From everything I've been reading the Acer OTA 3.2 breaks root and updates the boot loader so if you need root, don't upgrade as there is not a way to downgrade at this time.

  3. #3
    Iconia Operative
    Member #
    1570
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    202
    Liked
    10 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Routerninja View Post
    From everything I've been reading the Acer OTA 3.2 breaks root and updates the boot loader so if you need root, don't upgrade as there is not a way to downgrade at this time.
    That was I'm thinking.... But it's too late.

    Anyways, will wait for another update or any application that can break the v3.2's firmware to have the tablets root again!

    Meanwhile, I will enjoy the latest OTA update and on to Personalizing my A500 Tablet.
    Last edited by elsuirad; 09-22-2011 at 04:45 AM.

  4. #4
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    2810
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times
    I'm new and was wondering what root allows you to do with your a500.

  5. #5
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    2794
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Toronto, Caanada
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times
    Hey bigdog I got the same question - sounds like something to be cautious about.

  6. #6
    Iconia Operative
    Member #
    1570
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    202
    Liked
    10 times
    Bigdog & Gateway, Welcome to AcerTabletForums!

    Search on other threads with regards to rooting and updating firmware (updating versions too).

    If your'e planning to have your tablets rooted and updated, think twice before it's too late.


  7. #7
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    2810
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times
    Thanks

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    1693
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    313
    Liked
    22 times
    Yup, Acer totally locked down the bootloader on this last OTA. Until another way is found to gain root access, any 3.2 OTA install is SOL at the moment. Thanks, Acer.
    Acer Iconia A500:

    ROM List | KERNEL List | RECOVERY List

    ​Current ROM:
    TegraOwners ICS v170

  9. #9
    Iconia Operative
    Member #
    1570
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    202
    Liked
    10 times
    ditto.

  10. #10
    Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    2851
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    13
    Liked
    0 times
    Hi there,
    I am a newbies. I wonder if using a custom rom 3.2 is better option than the stock rom 3.2? Can someone give me advice? I need root access for ad-hoc connection. Thank in advance.


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

acer iconia 3.2 root

,
acer iconia a500 root 3.2
,
acer iconia tab a500 3.2 root
,
how to root acer a500 honeycomb 3.2
,

how to root acer iconia a500 3.2

,
iconia 3.2 root
,
iconia root 3.2
,
root a500 android 3.2
,

root acer iconia 3.2

,
root acer iconia a500 3.2
,
root acer iconia a501
,

root acer iconia tab 3.2

,
root android 3.2 acer
,
root android 3.2 iconia
,
root iconia 3.2
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.