• Login:

Welcome to the Acer Tablet forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    Liked
    0 times

Bruteforce eMMC Flash Hacking of the Acer A200 - Thoughts and proposal

Introduction:
    I am newbie on this site, but I am an Engineer & not a complete novice when it comes to tablet hacking. However, I didn't think to "backup" whatever was on the damned thing before I totally killed the bootloader (not that it would really have made any difference in this case).

Circumstances that led to my issue:
    I have completely "hard-bricked" a A200 that was originally "soft-bricked". It was "soft-bricked" in the sense that I could not mount, delete, or format the /DATA partition no matter what I had attempted. (Yeah, tried Fastboot userdata and with the -w context, and also that Wipe utiility ,etc.) Finally, I ended up trying to revert back to a stock ROM using the CWM Recovery. Btw, I had unlocked the bootloader when I first installed the CWM. As the tablet updated to the stock ROM, I saw something flash on the screen for a couple of seconds that stated ".blob failed" in red before all went dark.

Current state:
    I've lost all ADB and Fastboot ability, and am left only with the APX mode. I've researched this method for a few days. While it seems to be a viable approach for the A500; Unfortunately, it is close to impossible (maybe is indeed impossible) to recover the A200 tablet by way of nvFlash unless you are able to calculate a magic number (SBK) with a unique CPUID for your particular tablet. Correct me if I am wrong, I don't think anyone was able to ever revive an A200 through APX? (If I am incorrect, please do call me out on that statement, and then help me out with the nvFlash process for the A200.)

Proposal: