• Login:

Welcome to the Acer Tablet forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By RobKort
  • 2 Post By UltraDroid

Thread: ACER Bloatware

Iconia Lurker
    Member #
    Liked
    0 times

ACER Bloatware

I am relatively new to the Iconia. I have not used half the apps on my A100 8GB model. I have read posts talking about bloatware that is preinstalled. I am rather orderly and it bothers me to have programs/apps on my machine that I don't know how to use or will never use. I prefer to have a smaller list of apps that I use. Then, if a need arises for something, I search for and install the best recommended app to suit that need.

Could you power users please help out us rookies and tell us what you consider is bloatware on the A100 and why?

I understand that this may be a personal preference issue, but go ahead and tell me if you would uninstall app "x" and "y" because you would rather use app "z" from android market.

Also, I see mention of using Titanium Back-up to remove bloatware. Can't I just tap the icon and uninstall it?

TIA
    Last edited by Tragg; 04-05-2012 at 06:06 AM.

2. # ADS
    Ads

Administrator
    Member #
    Liked
    178 times
    Bloatware are applications that come preinstalled on the tab from the manufacturer/carrier that you will probably never use. They are a pain because they can't just be removed in most cases. They are also using precious space that can be utilized for something else. You will have to root your tab if you want to remove them.

Titanium needs root access for you to be able to do anything with it, you should first get familiar with what is root on Android.

-end of line-

Welcome To AcerTabletForum

Please feel free to PM me if you need any help

Iconia Informant
    Member #
    Liked
    3 times